Tags

,

I write like
J. D. Salinger

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

Okay, seriously? At this point, I’m beginning to wonder if it’s because I curse in my books or something. Or maybe it’s the alcohol?

Then again, each story or book I write tends to sound a little different. I’m a big believer in the idea that the tone and voice of a book is dictated by the characters. So the recovering addict, single mom, working in the bar might actually have some Salinger in her.

*shudders*

I hate Salinger. Of the books I read in high school? Catcher in the Rye was *not* one of the ones I enjoyed. Maybe that soured me on his work enough that I’ve never even read a short story, but really, just no.

That weird feeling you just got? That was a thousand disaffected teens cursing me and a few hundred English majors sighing in my direction that “I just don’t get it.” Nope. I don’t. I’m not even going to pretend to be sorry about that.

And for the record: Virginia Woolf is not my soul-mate no matter what the quizzes try to tell me.

ED 3-12: to make the badge work properly

